Mercedes F1 AMG

Mercedes F1 AMG

Full NameMercedes AMG Petronas F1

Nick NameMercedes F1



Team Owner(s)Mercedes

Prominent PlayersMichael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton , Nico Rosberg, Valtteri Bottas,



Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team is based in Brackley, England, using a German license. Mercedes-branded teams are often referred to by their nickname, the "Silver Arrows". Mercedes debuted in Formula One in 1954. Mercedes won 4 races in 1954 to clinch the championship and repeated the success in 1955. Despite the success of two titles, Mercedes Benz withdrew from motor racing after 1955 in response to the 1955 Le Mans Disaster.

The team returned to the sport as a constructor in 2010 when they bought the Brawn GP. After hiring various key personnel, the team rose through the pecking order and started dominating the sport in 2014. Until 2020, the team has won an unprecedented seven consecutive constructors and drivers titles.

Racing History

Initial Stint(Until 1955)

The Mercedes Benz team started their Formula One stint in the 1930 French GP with Rudolf Caracciola and dominated the Grand Prix Motor Racing season not only because of their cars but also their Nazi Influence and funding. Mercedes returned to Formula one in 1954 with a technologically advanced car Mercedes-Benz W196 and driver Juan Manuel Fangio transferring from Maserati to drive for the Silver Arrows mid-season.

This boosted the team's success rate and recorded a 1–2 victory with Fangio and Karl Kling, as well as the fastest lap. They won their debut season marking their Formula One return. They signed legendary driver Stirling Moss in the 1955 season and dominated that season as well. Due to a major crash in the LeMans, Mercedes withdrew from all forms of racing including Formula One.

Return to Formula One(2010-Present)

The team would acquire Brawn GP, 2009 Constructors Champions, and would return to Formula One as constructors in 2010. The team would feature Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg as their drivers for the season. 2010 would not be the best outing for Mercedes as the team would suffer from a lack of performance in the 2010 season. The team would finish the season 4th in the championship without any victory or pole position to their name.

The 2011 season would be more of the same as the team would continue to be the 4th fastest team on the grid as it was unable to close the gap to the front.

The 2012 season however would feature Mercedes making significant gains on single-lap pace as it would cut the gap to the teams in the front. Nico Rosberg would get his first pole position and win at the 2012 Chinese Grand Prix. However, as the season progressed the team would fall down the pecking order and ultimately finish the season 5th in the standings. Michael Schumacher would retire at the end of the season and be replaced by Lewis Hamilton for the 2013 season.

The 2013 season would see a marked improvement from the team as the duo of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton would win 3 races in the year and Mercedes would leapfrog the competition to finish 2nd in the constructors’ championship.

The 2014 season change in regulations would mark the beginning of Mercedes’s dominance over the rest of the field. Mercedes equipped with a highly superior power unit would comfortably win both the drivers’ and constructors’ championship. It would be a similar story in the 2015 season where Mercedes and Lewis Hamilton would win the championship with a few races to spare. The 2016 season would feature close competition between the two Mercedes drivers for the championship. Nico Rosberg would win the championship in the last race of the season and promptly retire from Formula One.

The 2017 season would be the first season since 2014 when Mercedes would face some competition from Ferrari. After facing some stiff competition in the first half of the season Mercedes would run away with both the championships in the second half with Hamilton winning the driver’s championship for the team. The 2018 season would follow a similar script however Ferrari would put together a stern test this time around. But the combination of Mercedes and Hamilton would still be too much for the Ferrari as Hamilton and Mercedes would win both the tiles with a few races to spare.

Mercedes would pull away from the field and establish a gap to its nearest competitors in the 2019 season while Ferrari and Red Bull suffered in terms of performance. Hamilton and Mercedes would win the title yet again with a few races to spare. The 2020 season was pretty much the same story as Mercedes bagged a seventh consecutive title.


Some of the prominent drivers to have driven for Mercedes include Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Juan Manuel Fangio, and many more.

Fetching more content...