Indian Cricket Team

Indian Cricket Team

Full NameIndia National Cricket Team

Nick NameMen in Blue, Team India


GroundHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium Dharamshala

Team Owner(s)Board of Control of Cricket in India

Prominent PlayersKL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant

RECENT FIXTURES All Cricket Fixtures→

Jun 07 - TEST
Australia VS India

Srikar Bharat Wicketkeeper Right Handed 29
Ishan Kishan Wicketkeeper Left Handed 24
Rohit Sharma Batsman Right Handed 36
Shubman Gill Batsman Right Handed 23
Cheteshwar Pujara Batsman Right Handed 35
Virat Kohli Batsman Right Handed 34
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman Right Handed 34
Ravichandran Ashwin All Rounder Right Handed 36
Axar Patel All Rounder Left Handed 29
Ravindra Jadeja All Rounder Left Handed 34
Shardul Thakur All Rounder Right Handed 31
Mohammed Siraj Bowler Right Arm 29
Mohammed Shami Bowler Right Arm 32
Umesh Yadav Bowler Right Arm 35
Jaydev Unadkat Bowler Left Arm 31

Captain - Rohit Sharma

Head coach - Rahul Dravid

Assistant coach - Sanjay Bangar

Representing - India

Team colour - Blue

Sponsorship - Nike, Byju’s

The Indian cricket team represents the whole of India in international fixtures including bilateral series against other nations or any of the global events organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship.

Table of Contents

  1. History
  2. Governing Body
  3. Support Staff
  4. The Indian Team Jersey
  5. Records
  6. Trophies and Awards
  7. Fan following


The Indian team was an integral part of international cricket events since they played their first-ever Test match way back in 1932. They have participated in every multi-nation tournament organized by the ICC over the years.

India v Sri Lanka - 2011 ICC World Cup Final

ICC Cricket World Cup

Team India participated in all World Cups since the inaugural edition in 1975. They have won the Championship twice, in 1983 and 2011 under Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni respectively. They were finalists in the 2003 edition in South Africa. They have co-hosted the World Cup in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

India’s performance in ICC Cricket World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

ICC T20 World Cup

The Indians kick started their T20 World Cup campaign with a win in the inaugural edition of the tournament held in South Africa. They later played another Final in the 2014 World T20 when they lost to Sri Lanka cricket team. The 2016 edition of the tournament was conducted in India.

India’s performance in ICC T20 World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy (earlier known as ICC Knockout Trophy) is the most successful tournament for the subcontinent team as they won it twice (once shared) and finished as Runners Up twice. They lost to New Zealand in the second edition in 2000 that was conducted in Kenya.

They shared the trophy with Sri Lanka in the next edition in 2002 as the Final could not be completed due to persistent rain even on the reserve day. Later, they became single champions for the first time in 2013 in England and Wales. However, they lost the Final against Pakistan cricket team in the 2017 edition in the same nation. India has hosted the Champions Trophy in 2006.

Team India’s performance in ICC Champions Trophy:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

Asia Cup

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) conducts the Asia Cup, which is primarily a 50-over competition among Asian nations. Only the 2016 edition of the Asia Cup was a T20 tournament. The Indian team has won the title 7 times including the T20 edition and finished as Runners up thrice. India has participated in every edition of the Asia Cup since the inaugural edition in 1984 except the one in 1986.

Team India’s performance in Asia Cup:

FormatMatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

Governing Body

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) governs the Indian cricket team since the year 1929. It is responsible for managing team India’s tour and kit sponsors along with accommodations and other facilities that the Indian contracted cricketers get. The BCCI has its headquarters at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Support Staff

Team managerGirish Dongre
Batting coachVikram Rathour
Bowling coachBharat Arun
Fielding coachRamakrishnan Sridhar
Strength and conditioning coachNick Webb
PhysioNitin Patel

The Indian Team Jersey

The Indian limited-overs jerseys have always been primarily blue. The jerseys have been made in different shades of blue. It has also had a few short designs in either white or orange colours. The players wore an away jersey only once against England cricket team in the World Cup 2019 that took place in England. It was primarily a dark blue jersey with an outline of orange.


FormatMatchesWonLostDrawnTiedNo ResultHSLS
Test (1932-2019)5351521652171-75942
ODI (1974-2019)978509419-94141854
T20I (2006-2019)1187341-1326074

*Updated after IND v SA 1st T20I 15 Sep 2019

*HS - Highest score in an innings

*LS - Lowest score in an innings

Trophies and Awards

YearTrophy / Award
1983ICC Cricket World Cup
1984Asia Cup
1985World Championship of Cricket (Declared as the Team of the Century by Wisden)
1988Asia Cup
1990/91Asia Cup
1993Hero Cup
1995Asia Cup
2002ICC Champions Trophy (shared with Sri Lanka)
2007ICC T20 World Cup
2010Asia Cup
2011ICC Cricket World Cup
2013ICC Champions Trophy
2016Asia Cup (T20I)
2018Asia Cup

Fan following

The Indian cricket team has the benefit of having a fan-base that crosses the billion-mark in the home country. This leads to the fact that no stadium in the nation has a vacant seat left when the Indian team is playing. The passion for the game among Indians is huge and can be compared to the passion among Europeans for football. The crowd support always benefits the home side and this is one team that has crowd support almost anywhere in the world.

West Indies v India - One Day International Series

They have more than half of the crowd cheering for them in any country they visit. Let alone the cricket-playing nations like the SENA countries (South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia) but also in the United States where they played a couple of T20I series against the West Indies.

The BCCI has close to 10 million followers on Twitter, over 10.5 million followers on Instagram and 3 million followers on Facebook. The Indian cricketers have a huge impact on the fan base on social media.

Fetching more content...