Australia Cricket Team

Australia Cricket Team

Full NameAustralia National Cricket Team

Nick NameAussies, Men in Yellow


GroundSydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust, Melbourne Cricket Ground, The Gabba, Adelaide Oval

Team Owner(s)Cricket Australia

Prominent PlayersDavid Warner, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Glenn McGrath


Captain - Aaron Finch (ODIs and T20Is), Tim Paine (Tests)

Head coach - Justin Langer

Representing - Australia

Team colour - Yellow (ODIs), Green, Yellow and Black (T20Is)

Sponsorships - Alinta (Home), Qantas (Away), ASICS

Table of Contents

  1. History
  2. ICC Cricket World Cup
  3. ICC T20 World Cup
  4. ICC Champions Trophy
  5. Governing Body
  6. Support Staff
  7. Jerseys
  8. Records
  9. Trophies and Awards
  10. Fan Following

The Australian cricket team represents the country of Australia in international fixtures including bilateral series against other nations or any of the global events organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship.


The Australian Cricket Team is one of the oldest national teams in cricketing history. They were involved in the first-ever Test match in 1877, first-ever ODI in 1971, first-ever T20I in 2005 and the first-ever Day/Night Test in 2015. They have been participating in all the multi-nation tournament organized by the ICC over the years.

India v Australia - T20I: Game 1

ICC Cricket World Cup

Australian cricket team has participated in every edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup since 1975. They have won the title most number of times, which is 5 including a hat trick of titles from 1999 to 2007. The two other victories were in 1987 and 2015. They were Runners Up in the inaugural edition in 1975 and 1996. They have co-hosted a World Cup tournament with New Zealand in 1992 and 2015.

Australia’s performance in ICC Cricket World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

ICC T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup (earlier known as World T20) is the only ICC multi-nation completed event that has not been won by the Australian Cricket team. They came close to the title in 2010 when they lost the Finals to England cricket team in 2010 in the Caribbean islands. They could never make it to the Finals again. Australia will be hosting the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup.

Australia’s performance in ICC T20 World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

ICC Champions Trophy

The Men in Yellow have won the Championship twice, in consecutive tournaments, in 2006 and 2009. They have not played any other Finals. The ICC Champions Trophy (earlier known as ICC Knockout Trophy) has never been conducted in the Australian continent.

Australia’s performance in ICC Champions Trophy:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

Governing Body

Cricket Australia (earlier known as Australian Cricket Board) is the governing body of the Australian cricket team and the domestic cricket in the country. It came into existence in 1905 as the ‘Australian Board of Control for International Cricket'. It has its headquarters in Melbourne. Cricket Australia has an operating income close to $100 million.

Also see - India National Cricket Team

Support Staff

High performance managerBelinda Clark
Batting coachGraeme Hick
Bowling coachAdam Griffith (ODIs), Troy Cooley (Tests)
Fielding coachBrad Haddin
Spin bowling consultantSridharan Sriram
MentorSteve Waugh
Strength and conditioning coachAaron Kellett
PhysioDavid Beakley, Richard Saw

*Last updated in Sept 2019


The Australian limited-overs jerseys have always been primarily yellow with shades of green on it for various designs. The T20I jersey was designed in primarily dark green containing yellow for the pattern and the trousers were black in colour. There has not been any more differences in jerseys with yellow being their most desired colour.

India v Australia - ODI Series: Game 5


FormatMatchesWonLostDrawnTiedNo ResultHSLS
Test (1877-2019)8253882242112-75836
ODI (1971-2019)942573326-93443470
T20I (2005-2019)1166052-2226379

*Last Updated after IND v AUS T20I, 27 Feb 2019

*HS - Highest score in an innings

*LS - Lowest score in an innings

Trophies and Awards

1987ICC Cricket World Cup
1999ICC Cricket World Cup
2002Laureus World Sports Award for Team of the Year
2003ICC Cricket World Cup
2006ICC Champions Trophy
2007ICC Cricket World Cup
2009ICC Champions Trophy
2015ICC Cricket World Cup

*Last updated in Sept 2019

Fan Following

The Australian fan following can be credited to their incredible performance in World Cups and complete dominance over world cricket around the change of the century. They have regained their fan base with the advent of the Big Bash League, which is a global T20 tournament conducted in the Australian nation with teams involving the cities with the country.

Cricket Australia has a wide fan base on social media. They have over 1 million Twitter followers, just under 1 million Instagram followers and close to 7 million followers on Facebook.

Fetching more content...