IPL 2023 Orange Cap

#IPL2023 is Live!
hero image
1 Shubman Gill GT 16 16 851 60.79 156.43 78 33 3 4 2 129
2 F du Plessis RCB 14 14 730 56.15 153.68 60 36 0 8 1 84
3 Virat Kohli RCB 14 14 639 53.25 139.82 65 16 2 6 2 101
4 Yashasvi Jaiswal RR 14 14 625 48.08 163.61 82 26 1 5 1 124
5 Devon Conway CSK 15 14 625 52.08 137.06 73 16 0 6 2 92
6 SA Yadav MI 16 16 605 43.21 181.14 65 28 1 5 2 103
7 RD Gaikwad CSK 15 14 564 43.38 146.88 43 29 0 4 1 92
8 David Warner DC 14 14 516 36.86 131.63 69 10 0 6 0 86
9 RK Singh KKR 14 14 474 59.25 149.53 31 29 0 4 6 67
10 Ishan Kishan MI 16 15 454 30.27 142.77 54 18 0 3 0 75
* Updated till the last completed match

IPL 2023 Orange Cap

Orange Cap in IPL 2023 will be awarded to the player who ends the season with the most runs. The Orange Cap is one of the iconic awards presented by the organisers since the inception of the IPL in 2008. 

Saudi Aramco was the sponsor for the Orange Cap in IPL 2022 as it was the first time that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to get a distinguished partner for Orange and Purple Cap.

Australian batter Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the Orange Cap in IPL 2008, having scored 616 runs in 11 matches for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) at a strike rate of 139.68. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Virat Kohli, who is the highest run-scorer in the IPL with 6624 runs, scored the most runs in a season (973 in 2016). 

Kohli's former RCB teammate Chris Gayle is the only player to retain the Orange Cap in the IPL after winning it in 2011 (608 runs) and 2012 (733 runs) seasons.

1Jos ButtlerRR863149171721165734445
2KL RahulLSG61613515153103*5124230
3Quinton de KockLSG50814815151140*3623123
4Hardik PandyaGT4871311515487*4444012
5Shubman GillGT48313216162963434011
6David MillerGT4811421616994*6852023
7Faf du PlessisRCB46812716161963123013
8Shikhar DhawanPBKS4601221414288*3843012
9Sanju SamsonRR45814617171552852026
10Deepak HoodaLSG45113615140593234018

Rules for Orange Cap in IPL 2023

  1. The player with the most runs at the end of IPL 2033, including playoffs fixtures, will get the Orange Cap.
  2. Once the season progress ahead, players who are leading on the run-scoring list can wear the Orange Cap on the field. 
  3. In csse of more than one batter has the same number of runs at the season end then the batter with the best strike raye will take the Orange Cap.
  4. The runs of Super Over won't considered in the race of Orange Cap. 

What is Orange Cap in IPL?

The Orange Cap is a distinguished recognition for a player who scores the most runs in one season. The race for Orange Cap starts after all participating teams have at least played one match in the tournament. The winners will change after every news season. 

Which Player gets an Orange Cap in IPL? 

Most players start the tournament with big scores for their side but not many are likely to sustain with the consistency factor. And the Orange Cap is the award for the player who manages to compile runs throughout the season rather than in a few games. The player who outwits the rest of the players in the league and finishes top on the run-scoring charts gets the Orange Cap in WPL.

How many Indians have won the Orange Cap in IPL? 

There are five players from India to win the Orange Cap in 15 seasons. Sachin Tendulkar (MI - 2010), Robin Uthappa (KKR - 2014), Virat Kohli (RCB - 2016), KL Rahul (KXIP - 2020) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK - 2021) are the five players to bag the Orange Cap. 

What are the benefits of wearing Orange Cap? 

The one who wins the Orange Cap at the end of the tournament hogs the limelight at least for the next season. Even players can revive their international career or push forward their case into the national team. 

Shaun Marsh earned his Australia debut based on his performance in the inaugural season. Even Robin Uthappa helped his case to return to receive a callback in the India ODI team after his success with KKR in their title-winning campaign. 

Which uncapped player won the Orange Cap in IPL history? 

Shaun Marsh is the only player to win the Orange Cap as an uncapped player in IPL 2008 for Punjab. The left-handed batter was just 24 when he won the Orange cap. 

Do Super Over runs add to the Orange Cap?

The Super Over is played when the two teams have leveled the scores at the end of the 40-over game. However, the runs scored by the batters aren't considered in the contention of the Orange Cap list and neither are they counted in the player's IPL career runs. 

Has anyone ever won Orange Cap and Purple Cap both?

Many great all-rounders have played in the IPL but no one has come far to win the Orange Cap and the Purple Cap simultaneously in the same season. 

Who are the top contenders to win the Orange Cap in IPL 2023?

England batter Jos Buttler is the reigning holder of the Orange Cap. The Rajasthan Royals opener slammed 863 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 149.05, including four scintillating centuries. Buttler remains the top pick to retain the Orange Cap but will face challenge from the likes of KL Rahul, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, and Hardik Pandya.